Follow by Email

Thursday, 2 June 2016

Rahul Johri takes charge as first ever CEO of BCCI

Rahul Johri took charge as first ever chief executive officer (CEO) of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) at its headquarters in Mumbai, Maharashtra. The appointment and creation of post of BCCI CEO was based on the lines of key recommendations of the three-member Justice RM Lodha Committee. As a CEO, Mr. Johri will directly report to the BCCI secretary Ajay Shirke and shall have freedom to work independently in BCCI’s set-up that was traditionally controlled by honorary office-bearers. He will be responsible for the smooth functioning of operations, stakeholder management of BCCI and also build robust strategies for further promoting the sport of cricket. About Rahul Johri Prior to this appointment, he was working as Asia Pacific’s Executive Vice-President for Discovery Networks and General Manager (GM) for South Asia. He has rich experience of 20 plus years in the media industry and is widely respected in the broadcasting industry for converting Discovery to a 11-channel bouquet. He was associated with Discovery Networks for the last 15 years and was leading its South Asia operations for the past 8 years. Tags: Appointments • BCCI • Cricket • Persons In News • Rahul Johri • Sports Former Delhi Police Commissioner BS Bassi appointed UPSC member June 1, 2016No comments President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed former IPS officer Bhim Sain Bassi as a member of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) as per provisions of Article 316 of Constitution. He will hold the constitutional post till February 2021 i.e. maximum tenure of six years or till he attains the age of 65 years. About BS Bassi He was an Indian Police Service (IPS) officer of 1977 batch of Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territory (AGMUT) cadre. He had started his career as an Assistant Superintendent of Police in Pondicherry and retired as Delhi Police chief in February 2016. During his career spanning over 38 years he had held several important positions like Delhi Police Commissioner, Delhi Police Special Commissioner (Traffic), Delhi Police Special Commissioner (Vigilance), Inspector General of Chandigarh and DGP, Goa Police. About Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) UPSC is constitutional body which conducts the prestigious civil services examination to select IAS, IFS and IPS officers among others. It has been established under Article 315 of the Constitution and consists of a Chairman and ten Members; appointed and removed by President. The chairman and members of the Commission hold office for a term if six years or until they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. Present Composition of UPSC: Deepak Gupta (Chairman). Other members include Alka Sirohi, Manbir Singh, David R Syiemlieh, former Navy Vice Chief DK Dewan, Chhatar Singh, Prof Hem Chandra, Vinay Mittal, Arvind Saxena and Prof Pradeep Kumar Joshi.

No comments:

Post a Comment

This free script provided by
JavaScript Kit

Follow by Email