Follow by Email

Saturday, 4 June 2016

P Dhanapal re-elected as Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Speaker

P Dhanapal and Pollachi V Jayaraman on 3 June 2016 were unanimously re-elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively for the 15th Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.The two AIADMK leaders held the respective offices in the previous assembly also.As Soon as the House assembled on 3 June 2016, the Protem Speaker S Semmalai announced Dhanapal as Speaker as he was the only person to
file nomination for the post.His name was proposed by AIADMK Chief and TN CM J Jayalalithaa and Finance Minister and Leader of the House O Panneerselvam. As a convention, the Leader of the House and leader of the Opposition M K Stalin (DMK) conducted Dhanapal to his chair. Newly elected Speaker announced V Jayaraman as the Deputy Speaker as there was no other nomination filed for the post. Dhanapal was re-elected as Member of Legistative Assembly (MLA) from Avinashi (Reserved) constituency for sixth term while Jayaraman was re-elected from Pollachi constituency  for fourth term.
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) won the May 2016 Assembly elections for a consecutive term. It was 133 MLAs in the 234-member house with three vacancies. The Party can ensure election of its nominees for the key posts.

No comments:

Post a comment

This free script provided by
JavaScript Kit

Follow by Email