Follow by Email

Wednesday, 25 May 2016

Porcine prize

LONDON (AP) — Satires set in financial-crisis Ireland and the high-end art world share this year's Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for comic fiction, whose rewards include a bottle of champagne and a pig.
Paul Murray's "The Mark of the Void" and Hannah Rothschild's "The Improbability of Love" were named the award's first joint winners on Wednesday.

The authors won't have to split the porcine prize for the award, named in honor of comic novelist P.G. Wodehouse.
Murray and Rothschild will each be presented with a Gloucester Old Spot pig named after their book during a June 4 ceremony at the Hay Festival of literature in Wales.
They each also receive a jeroboam of champagne and a set of Wodehouse novels.
Previous winners include Ian McEwan, Gary Shteyngart and the late Terry Pratchett.

No comments:

Post a comment

This free script provided by
JavaScript Kit

Follow by Email