Almost 10 days after the results of the elections to the 30-member Puducherry Assembly were announced, AICC general secretary and former Union Minister of State V. Narayanasamy was unanimously elected leader of the Congress Legislature Party on Saturday, to become the next Chief Minister of the Union Territory. Mr. Narayanasamy did not contest in the Assembly polls. The
announcement came after central observers, Sheila Dikshit and AICC general secretary Mukul Wasnik, met Congress MLAs.
News of Mr. Narayanaswamy’s election sparked violence as a section of Congress workers protested the decision and squatted outside the hotel where the meeting was under way.
A group of cadre later went on the rampage on East Coast Road (ECR), stoning vehicles.
Over 10 public transport buses were damaged, leaving one driver and some passengers injured. Hundreds of Chennai-bound passengers were stranded on the ECR at Pillaichavady and Kanagachettikulam.