Follow by Email

Monday, 23 May 2016

Mohun Bagan beats Aizawl FC 5-0 to lift 14th Federation Cup title

Mohun Bagan on 21 May 2016 clinched the Federation Cup title for the 14th time. In the final played at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium in Guwahati, Bagan defated Aizwal FC 5-0.
Bagan won this tournament after a gap of 8 years (in 2008), when it defeated Dempo 1-0.

The first half of the match went goalless. In the second half, Mizo striker Jeje Lalpekhlua netted two goals, while the other three goals were scored by Sony Norde, Dhanachandra Singh and Bikramjit Singh.
In the quarterfinals, the Aizwal FC defeated the I-League champions Bengaluru FC. In semi-finals, it defeated Sporting Clube de Goa to book its place in the final for the first time.
Federation Cup
The Federation Cup is an annual knockout style club football tournament in India. It has started in 1977. Presently it is the most important club tournament after the I-League, to which it has become a de facto League Cup.
The winning club of the Federation Cup gets a chance to compete in the continental level in AFC Cup.
2015 Federation Cup was won by Bengaluru FC.

No comments:

Post a comment

This free script provided by
JavaScript Kit

Follow by Email