Follow by Email

Friday, 20 May 2016


The series production of the Tejas aircraft has already commenced at HAL Bangalore and the IAF intends to form the first squadron of the LCA on 01 July 2016. The IAF has also decided to place an order for an additional 80 Tejas in the advanced LCA MK1A configuration.

The specifications derived for design & development of LCA MK1A are based on the applicable international military standards. Kaizan techniques are being adopted to ensure international standards. The indigenous Light Combat Aircraft ‘Tejas’ has achieved initial operational clearance.

The HAL Tejas is a single-seat, single-jet engine, multi-role light fighter developed by Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) designed for high manoeuvrability. It came from the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) program, which began in 1993 to replace India's ageing Soviet era MiG-21 fighters. LCA was officially named "Tejas" in 2003, meaning "Radiant" in Sanskrit by the then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Tejas is the smallest and lightest contemporary supersonic combat aircraft in its class. The Tejas is the second supersonic fighter developed by Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) after the HAL HF-24 Marut. Tejas MK1 is now in production for the Indian Air Force (IAF) and undergoing flight tests for Indian Navy (IN). The projected requirement for IAF is 200 single-seat fighters and 20 twin-seat trainers, while the Navy expects to induct 40 single-seat fighters.

India is also in the process of 36 Rafale jets from France in fly-away condition as quickly as possible. The Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha flew the aircraft at HAL, Bangalore on May 17, 2016. Raha appreciated the flying qualities of the aircraft. He congratulated the entire team of ADA and HAL for their hard work in getting the LCA program to this stage. 

No comments:

Post a comment

This free script provided by
JavaScript Kit

Follow by Email