Follow by Email

Monday, 23 May 2016

China wins Uber Cup Badminton tournament for 14th time

hinese women badminton team showing its supremacy on 21 May 2016 won the Uber Cup title. In the final played at the Kunshan Sports Centre Gymnasium in Beijing, the host country defeated South Korea 3-1.
It was the host country’s third triumph in a row since 2012 and overall it won the title for 14th time since
it first started competing in the Uber Cup in 1984.
However, South Korean team was unable to end their six-year drought at the Uber Cup.
Match Results
In the best of five series, reigning Olympic champion Li Xuerui beat Sung Ji-hyun 14-21, 21-13, 21-10 in the first match.
In the second match and doubles Jung Kyung-eun and Shin Seung-chan of South Korea beat the Chinese pair of Tian Qing and Zhao Yunlei 16-21, 21-17, 25-23 to level the tie.
In the third match former World No 1 Wang Shixian beat Kim Hyo-min 21-13, 21-12 to put China back on top.
In the final and fourth match Chen Qingchen and Tang Yuanting of China beat Chang Ye-na and Lee So-hee 21-14, 21-16 to clinch the winning point and the title.
India’s performance in Uber Cup
India won the bronze of the Uber Cup tournament after they suffered a 0-3 defeat at the hands of defending champions China in the semifinals.
Indian women team comprise of Saina Nehwal, PV Sindhu, Jwala Gutta and N Sikki Reddy.
Indian team won the bronze medal of the tournament for the second consecutive time. They had won it for the first time and scripted history in the 2014 edition at New Delhi.
About Uber Cup
• The Uber Cup is the World Team Championships for Women and it was first held in 1956-7. It is held once in every three years. Since 1984, the Cup is held bi-ennially.
• It was named after a former British women's badminton player, Betty Uber. She gave the idea of hosting a women's event similar to that of the men (Thomas Cup).
• China has won the cup for maximum number of times. It has won the cup 13 times followed by Japan which has won it for five times. Indonesia and United States have won the cup for three times each.

No comments:

Post a comment

This free script provided by
JavaScript Kit

Follow by Email